Mirai, Penguin Highway & Dragon Ball Super: Broly get Japan Academy Prize nominations

Mirai, Penguin Highway & Dragon Ball Super: Broly get Japan Academy Prize nominations

0 comments 📅15 January 2019, 12:27

Mirai, Penguin Highway and Dragon Ball Super: Broly are among the five anime movies nominated for the Animation of the Year award at the upcoming 42nd Japan Academy Prize. Also up for the animation crown at Japan’s equivalent of the Oscars are Okko’s Inn and the 22nd film in the Detective Conan franchise, Detective Conan: Zero the Enforcer.

Coming off a recent Golden Globe nomination, Studio Chizu’s time-travelling fantasy adventure Mirai is the latest film from four-time Japan Academy Prize winner Mamoru Hosoda, director of The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Summer Wars and Wolf Children.

The first full-length film from Studio Colorido, Penguin Highway is also helmer Hiroyasu Ishida’s debut feature. Adapted from a novel by Tatami Galaxy’s Tomihiko Morimi, the film follows young Aoyama and his pals as penguins start to appear all over their town.

Opening in UK cinemas later this month, Toei Animation’s Dragon Ball Super: Broly is the franchise’s 20th feature-length instalment. Directed by Tatsuya Nagamine and scripted by Dragon Ball creator Akira Toriyama, it is the fourth film to star villainous Saiyan brawler Broly.

Directed by Kitaro Kosaka and based on Hiroko Reijo’s The Young Innkeeper Is a Grade Schooler! novels, Madhouse’s Okko’s Inn follows young girl Oriko ‘Okko’ Seki’s adventures at her granny’s haunted inn, whose supernatural inhabitants include ghost boy Uri-Bo.

Mob Psycho 100 helmer Yuzuru Tachikawa is in the director’s chair for TMS Entertainment’s Detective Conan: Zero the Enforcer, the 22nd film in the long-running Detective Conan (aka Case Closed) crime drama series and sequel to 2016 movie The Darkest Nightmare.

Last year saw Masaaki Yuasa’s Night Is Short, Walk On Girl take Animation of the Year laurels, beating Fireworks, Napping Princess, Mary and the Witch’s Flower and Detective Conan: Crimson Love Letter. Other previous winners include Sunao Katabuchi’s In This Corner of the World, Hayao Miyazaki’s The Wind Rises and Mamoru Hosoda movies The Boy and the Beast, Wolf Children, Summer Wars and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time.

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

You can be first one to write a comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.