FEMM unleash video for PoW! ahead of EP release

FEMM unleash video for PoW! ahead of EP release

0 comments 📅04 January 2016, 19:10


Mannequin pop duo FEMM started 2016 by unveiling the video to their new single PoW! as well as a teaser movie highlighting their past work and the upcoming debut of their physical EP, PoW! / L.C.S. + Femm-Isation.

RiRi and LuLa refer to themselves as femmes; dolls with minds. After launching in 2013, they digitally released ten singles from their album Femm-Isation the following year. Since then their videos on YouTube have managed over 5 million views. Their most popular, FxxK Boys Get Money – which they describe as “every girl’s anthem” – surpassed a million views back in November 2015.

2015 saw the duo perform in the US at the J-Pop Summit, and at Japan’s Moshi Moshi Nippon Festival and YouTube FanFest; it was at the latter where they first performed their new track PoW!. There was also a unique performance at the Adidas Originals Girls shop in Shibuya109, Tokyo, and they modelled Dolce & Gabbana for Vogue Japan. Plus they collaborated with Sak Noel and Faky on the Japanese version of No Boyfriend and featured in the video for KAMRA’s Deja Vu.

The video for their latest track PoW! was was directed by Midori Kawano (who also directed Fxxk Boys Get Money). Featuring a “TWIST & TWERK” dance style (which they say was inspired by the dances from Back to the Future), it is overly pink with a retrofuturistic theme and a punchy comic book feel.

FEMM_jacketTheir 10-track EP will include the two new tracks PoW! and L.C.S., as well as new remixes of previous songs. It will also be packaged together with their independently released album “Femm-Isation” as disc 2 and will be released on 3 February 2016.

There will be two different versions of this album. The Normal Version will retail for ¥3,132 (around $26/£18) and contain both discs as expected. However, there is also the Silent Package. This will retail for ¥1,620 (around $13.50/£9) and will substitute disc 2 with an empty CD-R. Intended for fans that have already downloaded FEMM’s tracks, they can choose to burn the music on the blank disc in order to complete the package.

Those outside of Japan can import it from Amazon, Mu-Mo or HMV.

Disc.1】「Pow! / L.C.S.

 01. PoW! [New Song!]

 02. L.C.S. [New Song!]

 03. Astroboy feat. Honey-B & W-Trouble (Japanese Ver.) [New Version!]

 04. Fxxk Boyz Get Money (Invaderous Remix) [New Remix!]

 05. Party All Night (sfpr Remix)

 06. Kill The DJ (Invaderous Remix)

 07. Kiss The Rain (sfpr Remix)

 08. Astroboy feat. Honey-B & W-Trouble (Invaderous Remix)

 09. Whiplash (sfpr Remix)

 10. UFO feat. Fz from sfpr vs Invaderous (Original Mix) [New Mix!]

Disc.2】 「Femm-Isation(CD or Empty CD-R)

 01. We Flood The Night

 02. Astroboy feat. Honey-B & W-Trouble

 03. Kill The DJ

 04. Party All Night

 05. The Real Thing

 06. Dead Wrong

 07. Unbreakable

 08. Girls Night Out

 09. Kiss The Rain

 10. Fxxk Boyz Get Money

 11. White Noise

 12. Whiplash

 13. Wannabe

If you’d like to know more about FEMM, then be sure to check out their (newly revamped) website, where you can now download GIF animations from the music video PoW!.

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

You can be first one to write a comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.